Clearscape Travel
  • CA 2099900, FL ST14303, IA 936, NV 2005-0012, WA 602904620
  • December 2, 2021

The British Virgin Islands (BVI) is a British overseas territory in the Caribbean, located sixty miles east of Puerto Rico and a few miles north of the US Virgin Islands. The Atlantic Ocean lies to the north of the BVI, and the Caribbean Sea lies to the south.

The BVI is comprised of 60 islands and cays with approximately 27 that are inhabited. There are four main islands: Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke.

Tortola is also the largest of the islands, being 24 square miles. Its capital is Road Town, and is connected to Beef Island, the site of the BVI’s International airport, Terrance B Lettsome Airport.

Most of the islands in the BVI are volcanic in origin and mountainous with lush terrain with the exception of Anegada. With a terrain of limestone and coral, Anegada lies at the northeastern edge of the BVI archipelago. Each island captures a view of the surrounding seascape.