Holland America Line : Zuiderdam
Ship Overview  |  Ship Statistics  |  Activities & Services  |  Staterooms  |  Deckplans
Cruise Line Profile  |  Ship Reviews

Cruise Reviews

Overall Rating:
Based on 43 reviews

Cruise reviews reflect the opinions of travel editors and cruisers/ readers and may not represent those of our company.

Submit your own review

Trip Review   
September 2019

Quebec to NYC

Pros: Professional, friendly and helpful staff and crew. Very clean.. Food good not exceptional.
Cons: Activities and main stage shows not as professional as expected.
more...

HAL Voyage of the Vikings on Zuiderdam   
July 2019

Voyage of the Vikings

Pros: The CREW and the ITINERARY.
Cons: BB King Blues too loud with staterooms nearby/above/below hearing them -
more...

17 Day Voyage of the Vikings, Rotterdam to Boston   
July 2019

Rotterdam, Lerwick, Rejkavik, Akureri, Isafodour, Nanortalik, St Johns, St Pierre, Sydney, Halifax, Boston

Pros: Fabulous itinerary, excellent shore excursion team, welcoming staff
Cons: No self-serve laundry, very limited passenger diversity
more...

Baltic Sea   
June 2019

Baltic Sea

Pros: Excellent service and staff, food, entertainment
Cons: Bathroom needs a night light
more...

Baltic adventure   
April 2019

Caribbean

Pros: Staff, ship, ports, overlands
Cons: None
more...

Holland America Cruise Vacation   
March 2019

Aruba, Curacao, Cartegena, Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Pros: Promenade deck to walk and sit to enjoy the ocean.
Cons: No organized bridge games. Same Oprah book as a year ago. Test kitchen same recipes as a year ago.
more...

Fabulous trip!   
February 2019

Half Moon Cay; Aruba; Curacao; Cartagena, Colombia; Panama Canal and Colon, Panama; Costa Rica

Pros: Itinerary was excellent, took some good tours, especially Cartagena old town "less shopping" tour. Also had an excellent experience with a wildlife boat tour in Panama. Our guide (I believe Juan) was so passionate and wanted to share his knowledge so much, that it became a really phenomenal experience. The walking tour in Costa Rica was also very good. I liked the on-board activities like the various trivia (the asst. cruise director did a good job). Also, the BB King group was very, very good and did a great job of getting people up to dance. Only suggestion is to expand their playlist a bit. The more educational talks given by the crew were also interesting. More of those would be good.
Cons: Only real complaint I had was of the "excursion director" (not certain of his real title). His performance on stage was good, but his individual interactions with guests was, at times, not good. I already wrote about specifics on my on ship comment card.
more...

one of the best!!   
February 2019

Caribbean

Pros: food, cabin, service, tours
Cons: none
more...

Cruise of the Panama Canal   
February 2019

Panama Canal

Pros: Great sevice all during the cruise
Cons: Adventure Tour in Costa Rica was uncomfortable and not worthwhile
more...

Great service..fun staff..lots of room   
February 2019

Half Moon Cay, Cartegena, Curacao, Costa Rica, Panama and Aruba

Pros: None
Cons: Cold in mainstage and test kitchen; local port info presentation could be better
more...

Panama Canal and Caribbean ports   
November 2019

Panama Canal

Pros: Wonderful lectures accompanied by slide shows by Lance, activities director. The crew was extremely attentive. Food was wonderful!!!!
Cons: None
more...

10 Day cruise on the Baltic Sea   
July 2018

Copenhagen, Tallinn, St. Petersburg, Stockholm, Helsinki, Berlin

Pros: Wonderful Attentive Staff! Love the Balcony on the Neptune Suite! Good selection of Entertainment during our Cruise. Great options for dining!
Cons: Felt a bit rushed at some of the ports.
more...

Wonderful trip   
October 2018

Quebec

Pros: Very friendly
Cons: None
more...

colorcruise   
September 2017

canada

Pros: good service, everywhere on the ship
Cons: don,t have any, love this company!
more...

Great Cruise!   
April 2017

Caribbean and Panama Canal

Pros: Excellent service; respectful and efficient staff; great food!
Cons: Pools on the ship were too cold
more...

Exceeded expectations... mostly   
March 2017

Aruba, Curacao, Cartagena, Colombia, Panama Canal, Costa Rica

Pros: Holland America?? TYVM. Staff was even better than other cruises !!! Awesome service and dining. Loved the dining. Service was exceptional. One show was full audience standing ovation, The Island Magic Steel Band
Cons: Unsafe cabin hallway sub-floors needed repair on several decks.
more...

Exceeded expectations... mostly   
March 2017

Aruba, Curacao, Cartagena, Colombia, Panama Canal, Costa Rica

Pros: Holland America?? TYVM. Staff was even better than other cruises !!! Awesome service and dining. Loved the dining. Service was exceptional. One show was full audience standing ovation, The Island Magic Steel Band
Cons: Unsafe cabin hallway sub-floors needed repair on several decks.
more...

Relaxing experience.   
February 2017

Panama Canal

Pros: Food and service were excellent
Cons: Could have had more and better night shows
more...

Panama canal cruise on ms Zuiderdam   
December 2017

Panama Canal

Pros: Recent renovation
Cons: Doesn't have the midship Asian restaurant that the more recent bigger HAL ships have
more...

Everything was perfect   
December 2017

Panama Canal. Half moon Cay. Aruba all great.

Pros: Food room limited passengers few children great musical shows on time leaving and in every port. Dry cleaning great. People were caring and friendly
Cons: Everything was perfect. Beautiful ship and amenities
more...

Everything was perfect   
December 2017

Panama Canal. Half moon Cay. Aruba all great.

Pros: Food room limited passengers few children great musical shows on time leaving and in every port. Dry cleaning great. People were caring and friendly
Cons: Everything was perfect. Beautiful ship and amenities
more...

A Great Trip   
October 2017

Canada and East Coast USA

Pros: Food was superb as was the staff and service. Since we went through Immigration in Bal Harbor, getting off in Ft Lauderdale was a breeze.
Cons: Ship was very cold. Went to dry dock after we arrived so perhaps there was a problem.
more...

Sailing on top of the earth   
August 2016

Denmark, Norway, Iceland, Greenland, New Foundland, Nova Scotia and NY

Pros: Great itinerary, nice pace with sea days and excellent geological and cultural lectures of countries visited
Cons: Ship air is very dry. During storm at sea - we experienced flooding on the verandah and very wet carpeting.
more...

Copenhagen trip   
August 2016

Denmark, Estonia, Sweden, Germany, Finland, Russia

Pros: Great suite, wonderful staff
Cons: None
more...

24 Day Cruise   
May 2016

U. K. and Baltic, too many cities and countries to name individually, 20 cities

Pros: Staff was excellent, number of stops provided a lot of variety, ship was always clean, dining options were good
Cons: Very poor and expensive wifi, daily hotel service charge over and above what you have already paid, way over priced beverage packages, over priced shore excursions through Holland America with absolutely no assistance when other options are available
more...

Baltic Cruise   
May 2016

Baltic cruise

Pros: None
Cons: None
more...

10 day trip to the Panama Canal   
April 2016

Aruba-Curacao-Panama Canal

Pros: Excellent food and service level
Cons: Old leather chair in room- verandah deck floor and windows dirty
more...

11 Day Southern Caribbean & Panama Canal Cruise   
April 2016

Southern Caribbean & Panama Canal

Pros: Great staff and experience
Cons: None
more...

Panama Canal Cruise   
March 2016

Panama Canal

Pros: The staff treated us like kings and queens.
Cons: The food was good but not delicious. About what you'd expect when serving so many people at one time.
more...

Panama Canal   
March 2016

Aruba, Curacao, Cartagena, Panama Canal, Costa Rica

Pros: None
Cons: None
more...

About What I Expected   
December 2016

Caribbean

Pros: Good Service
Cons: Entertainment lacking, movie theater too small to accommodate so many who want to go
more...

Panama Canal Cruise   
January 2016

Panama Canal

Pros: None
Cons: Ship changed time at 3:00 in the afternoon
more...

Cruise Experience   
January 2016

Aruba, Columbia, Panama Canal, Costa Rica, Grand Cayman

Pros: Food, Staff, Room
Cons: Entertainment, Activities
more...

Zuiderdam cruise   
August 2015

Sicily, Malta, Greece, Croatia, Montenegro, Italy

Pros: The itinerary was excellent. We enjoyed all the ports. The public rooms and elevators and promenade decks were lovely. There were beautiful large bouquets of fresh flowers here and there which added a lot to the ambiance. The dining room was comfortable and attractive and the service was excellent. Our waiter was a charmer and very attentive. We had two excellent shows: a mime/magician who was incredible and very entertaining, and a local singing and dancing troupe from Kotor, Monte Negro, who performed native dances in a great variety of beautiful costumes. One other show we enjoyed was put on by Philippine staff members, doing native singing and dancing in costume.
Cons: We were disappointed in our stateroom. It was very cramped and shabby. Supposedly a cabin for 3 people, it had 2 1/2 closets, two small 2-drawer chests, and in the evening when the beds were made up, one could not get out to the balcony without stepping on the pullout sofa, which we did not do. There was no room for the extra chair or sofa table, nor for my rollator walker, which I put in the bathtub, until I found out I could call and have it taken away overnight and delivered back in the morning. The door to the balcony was very heavy to open and couldn't be kept open the way sliding doors would have been. We had to make do with a folding chair for the dressing table. Other cons were: the food was not as good as I have had on Celebrity ships and even Norwegian line ships. The breads, hors d'ouevres and desserts were the best food items. It was difficult to orient oneself on the ship. There was very poor signage, indicating forward and aft, port and starboard. The day we left the ship we wanderered all over trying to find which way to get off and were afraid of missing our airport bus.
more...

FAMILY TIES   
March 2015

ARUBA, CURACAO, PANAMA CANAL, COSTA RICO

Pros: GOOD WEATHER, FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT
Cons: NONE
more...

Out of the cold in February!   
February 2015

Half Moon Bay , Bahama; Arauba; CuraƧao; Cartagena, Colombia; Panama Canal and Colon, Panama, Port Limon, Costa Rica

Pros: Great itinerary- Panama Canal, Costa Rica, etc. If you have limited mobility HAL goes out of the way to assist both on the ship and with land excursionson. Entertainment was very good - both shows and music on board.
Cons: Ship is due for refit in April, some of the maintenance ( paint on the outside, upholstery in the Lido) was let go. Definitely an older crowd ( my wife and I are mid 60's.)
more...

Panama Canal   
December 2015

Bonaire, Panama, Costa Rica (we did not get off in Bahamas or Aruba)

Pros: HAL, especially at the Nepturn Suite level, provides excellent accomodations,service and great food,
Cons: None
more...

Last minute cruise   
December 2015

Panama Canal

Pros: Good ship, excellent staff, plenty of choice in dining
Cons: Not much choice in cabins
more...

A Wonderful Ten Day Experience at Sea   
November 2015

Panama Canal

Pros: Our Pinnacle Suite was superb, the food and service in the dining room and specialty restaurant excellent,and the service from our concierges and room stewards responsive and unobtrusive.
Cons: Having to disembark.
more...

Tanya's review   
January 2015

Panama Canal ++

Pros: Beautiful ship, excellent food, great service
Cons: Forward cabin loud and shakey in rough seas
more...

Panama Cruise 2014   
March 2014

Private Island, Aruba, Curiso, Costa Rica, Columbia and Panama Canal

Pros: Restful cruise plenty of on ship time
Cons: We were discouraged from touring ourselves, much pressure to book ship tours
more...

The Joys of Sailing as a couple in their late 80's   
October 2014

From San Francisco to ports along Mexico, in Costa Rica and Panama, through the Panama Canal, and stops in Cartagena and Half Moon Cay before disembarking in Ft. Lauderdale, FL.

Pros: A vey helpful and friendly wait staff; a very efficient medical staff; fantastic room stewards; an extremely talented Cruise Director Dave Shae; a very knowledgeable Bridge Instructor
Cons: Early seating too early at 5:15 p.m.; loveseat in stateroom needs new upholstery
more...

HAL Zuiderdam Panama Canal 12/9/2013   
December 2013

Panama Canal

Pros: Friendliness and attitude of the staff and very good food & entertainment
Cons: The ship is looking a little tired.
more...

Signature Travel Network
390 North Pacific Coast Highway, Suite 3200
El Segundo, California  90245
Phone: 310-574-8888
Signature Travel Network Website
Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Facebook