Disney Cruise Line: Disney Magic
Ship Overview  |  Ship Statistics  |  Activities & Services  |  Staterooms  |  Deckplans
Cruise Line Profile  |  Ship Reviews

Cruise Reviews

Overall Rating:
Based on 15 reviews

Cruise reviews reflect the opinions of travel editors and cruisers/ readers and may not represent those of our company.

Submit your own review

Magic at sea   
March 2017

Castaway Cay and Nassau

Pros: The entire experience
Cons: None
more...

Ready to go again!   
February 2017

Castaway Cay, Key West, Miami

Pros: Service excellence!
Cons: Prices of on ship activities
more...

Fabulous   
February 2016

Nassau, Castaway Cay

Pros: Excellent food, room was a food size with double bathrooms, ship did not feel overcrowded, service was superb!
Cons: None
more...

"Magic"al Time   
February 2016

Nassau & Castaway Cay

Pros: Great food, wonderful crew, fabulous entertainment. A totally Magical experience!
Cons: Nassau
more...

Wonderful Memory.   
December 2016

Tortola: San Juan, Porto Rico; Castaway Cay

Pros: Fantastic family experience to share with your kids or grand kids: making and seeing them happy.
Cons: For the price, I would expect better quality for the dining experience.
more...

Family fun   
December 2016

Key West, Rand Cayman, Cozumel, & Castaway Cay

Pros: Fun for the whole family, lots of different adventures and activities. Food and service was great
Cons: Upper age limits on shore adventures were inappropriate
more...

The BEST family vacation EVER!   
October 2016

Port Canaveral & Castaway Cay

Pros: Cleanliness, kindness, deliciousness, happiness, fun, excitement, what can I say, Disney knows how to cruise!
Cons: Not a single negative thing to say.
more...

Disney Magic   
January 2016

bahama cruise

Pros: Service, food, shows, attention to children, excellent
Cons: Tipping is not included with payment
more...

Best Cruise Vacation Ever   
January 2016

Miami, Grand Caymans, Castaway Cay

Pros: Friendly staff, excellent entertainment, superb food
Cons: None
more...

Loved every minute   
November 2015

Cozumel, Castaway Key Bahamas

Pros: Service was perfect, food was excellent, entertainment wonderful
Cons: None
more...

Disney Magic Review   
October 2015

Nassau, Castaway Cay

Pros: None
Cons: None
more...

Disney Magic cruise   
January 2015

Western Caribbean

Pros: Fabulous food, entertainment, cleanliness, staff
Cons: None
more...

Disney Magic from Barcelona   
August 2014

Mediterranean

Pros: Disney are great!
Cons: Swimming pool
more...

Spring Break Disney Cruise   
March 2014

Nassau, Castaway Cay

Pros: Ship was clean, staff was fabulous
Cons: Water was cold at Castaway Cay
more...

Disney Magic   
November 2014

Key West, Grand Cayman, Cozumel and Castaway Cay

Pros: Terrific activities & supervision for children of all ages. Ours are 5 and 8 and they couldn't wait to go everyday and stayed as long as they could. There were science experiments, crafts, games, things to build, things to tear down, and so much more. They were well supervised and had quick access to parents through the ship cell phones for each passenger (we loved these phones). The children loved the "meet and greets" with the Disney characters which are spread out through each day of the week. The ports of call (Key West, Grand Cayman, Cozumel and Castaway Cay) were wonderful and not rushed. It was great to have enough time to explore each location & also have play time at the beach at each port. Castaway Cay is amazing, very well laid out, has a tram to get to and from the ship and beach. It has a beautiful beach with LOTS of activities. The day we were there, there was a storm at sea for the last 24 hours and due to heavy waves and unusually cool waters, some of the activities were cancelled, but there was plenty to do. Our kids loved the large water slide, and everyone ventured into the water, though cooler than normal, and the beach and sun were very warm & everyone there seemed to be having a wonderful time. Everything on board is top notch and exceptionally clean. I was very impressed by the efforts to prevent germ transmission and staff members were throughout the ship offering hand wipes to everyone for opening doors, touching serving spoons, etc. They were diligent at keeping us and the ship healthy. The crew was exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Cons: FOOD: I am personally not a fan of the "sit down" menu as I'm not a meat or fish eater, which is the central option of this menu. I prefer other options with the chance to have a sit down dinner when wanted. Between 5:45 and 9:30, all food venues (i.e. pizza, sandwiches, etc.) EXCEPT sit down dining rooms close, so that's your only option for dinner unless you want to wait until 9:30 when some of the other food venues reopen. For someone who doesn't eat meat and can't eat fish, this is tough. Though the dining room offers a vegetarian menu, it offers most with tofu, which was not good at all. As a vegetarian, I might suggest adding the option of tempeh to the vegetarian menu as it has a wonderful taste all on its own and adds a wonderful amount of taste & flexibility to any dish and can be prepared quite easily, just like tofu. Being a vegetarian does not mean you eat tofu - there are lots of other options. The staff did their best to accommodate me with a large green salad for my dinner and on nights when baked potatoes were available, I had that also. The children ate penne noodles and marinara sauce from the children's menu for all but 1 dinner and usually waited for the sandwich and pizza venues to reopen to really eat dinner, but that was quite late for them to eat and then go to bed. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful and buffet style so you could eat what and all you wanted as there was enough variety of foods to please everyone - even a non-tofu eating vegetarian. The fruits and vegetables were wonderful at the buffet. ENTERTAINMENT: Entertainment for the children was spectacular. Every minute of their day could be filled with activities of all kinds, and the children were our reason for picking a Disney Cruise. There were options available for the adults, such as lounges, etc. and the adult pool was a great option during the day. The magician/comedian was quite good, but I'm used to wonderful Broadway type productions at night, and that really didn't happen. Most of the shows were children oriented. Again, I expected that, but would have loved seeing a colorful, music filled, dance filled adult stage production. TV offered little entertainment in the rooms. Most of the channels were about the cruise, ports of call, other Disney Cruise options, all the Disney and family TV channels as well as every sporting event known to man. We had BBC News, Fox News, MSNBC & CNN, which I watched most of the time and there were movies that were repeated throughout the day everyday. I personally watched the documentary on Sue, the dinosaur, 3 times. I would have appreciated other options as the only live options were sports and news.
more...

TheCruiseLines.com
8350 NW 52nd Terrace, Suite 103
Doral, Florida  33166
Phone: 800-650-SAIL
www.TheCruiseLines.com

Florida Seller of Travel #18427. CST#2066718-40.